20 Home Truths About Only Children

I must admit, this is really just home truths of my own childhood. No mass research or polls were taken during the making of this blog. Though, I am hoping a flurry of other only children will come to the forefront saying ‘I was that weird too!’ (Please…)

image

1. You never have to share anything.
Though, the older you get, the more people seem to interpret this as being selfish. No idea why!

2. You learn how to entertain yourself.
You don’t need a playmate to have a good time! But, you do have to get rid of that imaginary friend some time.

3. You don’t have arguments with siblings.
You have a generally carefree, un-argumentative upbringing (until your teen years, of course). However, this does mean that you burst into tears at the slightest signs of confrontation. Just me?

4. You’re the favourite daughter/son!
But it also means that you’re the least favourite. If you do something bad then it is literally the worst thing in the world. No one has ever been that bad before you!

5. No one ‘tells on you’.
No taddle-tales to worry about. However, you also have no one to blame when you get in trouble. Only children must become professional in preparing elaborate, fool-proof lies to survive childhood!

6. You can use the term ‘only child syndrome’ for a lot of excuses.
But other people seem to think it’s okay to use it when you’re being a brat too. Not okay!!

7. Your social skills are unique!
Interpret that as you will… It’s definitely a love it or hate it thing.

8. You find family units and relationships fascinating.
Again this could be just me. And I don’t know why this is a positive thing, really. I guess we could be naturally interested in sociology?

9. You know how to hold a crowd.
Some people call it attention seeking. Screw ’em!

10. You don’t have to compete with anyone.
Though, some people think your idea of games and sportsmanship is questionable.

11. You don’t get lied to by older siblings.
This is nice in the short term, but in the long term it means that you become very gullible.

12. You’re more likely to get a pet.
So what if it’s because your parents think don’t get out enough!?

13. You don’t get hand-me-down clothes.
I’ve heard many friends moan about this, though secretly I’m really jealous. Not only do you get a surprise box of clothes, you also have someone else to blame your past terrible fashion on.

14. Playing with the other kids on your street is the highlight of your day.
Which is both super cute and super depressing.

15. You want a big family yourself.
Yet, you will have no experience and no idea what you’re getting in to.

16. You believe everything your parents say.
You just don’t question it! There’s no one whispering ‘that’s not true, I tried it’. Primary school rumours caused many moments of scarring realisation for me.

17. You’re not afraid to be yourself.
Because no one at home tells you that you look like an idiot. Not explicitly at least, I’m sure my parents tried it subtly but it went straight over my head.

18. On the other hand, you seek approval a lot.
It’s a strange contradiction that I can’t really explain, but it’s true! We just can’t deal with people not liking us.

19. Your parents don’t understand the games you want to play.
Pretending games are out of the picture. So, you end up getting really into board games or anything else with explicit sets of rules and instructions.

20. You have a big imagination.
On occasion this just makes me unnecessarily paranoid. Though, in general, this has served me well and I’m very thankful for it!

5 thoughts on “20 Home Truths About Only Children

  1. Interesting to hear your experience of being one child. As a parent of one, I’m interested in this! After reading blogillons of blogs posts, I’ve come to realisation they’re as diverse a group as any other; and as much I want to pre-empt our one’s experience, I can’t. It’ll be hers to interpret and change her mind about as life moves on. I’m sure some of these are universal all the same.

    1. That’s true, all the experiences will be different! Of the few other only children I’ve met, I’ve generally found we’ve had similar experiences but then interpreted them in completely different ways! As in, something I hated, they loved, and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

