Day #24 – Accidentally Saying Yes

There’s only five days left of the challenge. For those of you who can’t stand the thought of me not rambling to my heart’s content everyday, look over the previous entries here and for those of you that want to start your own writing challenge, check the rules here. Today, a lesson learnt is a lesson shared… Or in my case, a lesson learnt is usually ignored.

image

Write about a lesson you’ve learned the hard way.

So, recently I got myself into an occasion that I really didn’t want to attend. I had made that rookie mistake of being too honest about my plans…

“Oh, Isabelle! Are you free Friday?”
“Why, yes, of course. Free as a bird!”
“Great! You can come along to this thing that I know you really don’t want to come to then.”
*Tries to think of excuse**Realises I’ve already said I’m free**Attempt not to look really annoyed*
“… Greaaaat.”

I was all set for writing about the lesson I had learned from this, which I had entitled ‘accidentally saying yes to things before you know what you’ve got yourself into‘. (I know, so catchy.) But then, there was a strange turn of events. After worrying for days about how terrible this dreaded day would be, predicting every awful, awkward thing that could happen and racking my brains for a way to get out of it… I ended up enjoying it. This is not the first time this has happened, and it won’t be the last time this happens either. Actually, I don’t know whether I can really call this ‘a lesson that I have learned the hard way’, rather than, ‘a lesson that I have repeatedly learned and then somehow immediately forgotten every time’. (Again, catchy, I know.) But here goes anyway, the lesson is:

“When you’re worried about something,
the anticipation is (almost) always worse than the reality.”

Sure, Hallmark, you can have that for free!

Leave a Reply

