The Many Faces of Receiving Feedback

When it comes to my creative work, I am crazy about getting people’s opinion on it (ergo, the frequent public blogging). However, it is a well-known fact that I am not good at receiving feedback. This bad habit comes in many forms and faces. Any other creatives have this specific form of schizophrenia?

image

The Needy Girlfriend 
“No, I want to hear everything you have to say. Honestly, tell me everything! I just want to pick your brain. Okay, that’s good. Now, tell me more…”

The Mood Swinger
“Yes, I’d love to hear what you think! … Okay, shut up now.”

The Inquisitive Child
“But why?… Why?… And why’s that?”

The Exhibitionist
“Maybe you’ll think differently when you hear the creative process behind my work.”

The Student
“So, I failed?”

The Unimpressed Mute
“Mmhmm mmhmm mm mm mm mmhmm mm mmhmm. Mmhmm!”

The Dramatist
“I’m quitting! I’m terrible, I’ll never make it!”

The Over-Defensive One
“Yeah, well, you don’t know what your talking about anyway…”

The Ignoramus
“I can’t hear you!”

The Subject Changer
“Great, okay, I’ll keep that in mind. Coffee?”

The Know-It-All
“Well, obviously I knew that bit… Give me some useful feedback.”

What am I missing? Enlighten me, crazy creatives!

2 thoughts on “The Many Faces of Receiving Feedback

Leave a Reply

