Day #30 – HALLELUJAH!

You know by now, there are 29 other posts of my writing challenge and you can find the rules here. It’s time to say farewell to daily invasive questions, though. Enjoy this one while you can…

image

Your highs and lows of the month.

:) My birthday!
I thought celebrating my birthday in a new country would be quite strange. I wasn’t sure what to do or where to go. However, my delightful new friends literally orchestrated the whole day for me with brunch, prezzies, cocktails and burritos. You guys da best!!

:) Receiving good feedback at work
One of my student’s parents thanked me for helping her daughter learn English. For the first time, she could remember all the English words (and the spellings) that we had learnt that week. I was so chuffed!

:( Realising I need to up my game
On the other hand, I had some teacher training this week and realised I need to challenge some of my classes sooo much more. Pop quizzes for everyone!

:) Trying egg coffee
Today I went to the Old Quarter in Ha Noi with two lovely new friends. I tried a new meal, a new dessert and egg coffee! It was a great day of exploring and good company. I realised I’ve got so much more to see/find/do in Vietnam and I can’t wait.

:) Finding my way places
Now this sounds stupid but you have no idea how often I get lost on a daily basis. However, this month, the number of times has significantly dropped. I’ve no idea why and I don’t want to jinx it though, so I’m going to move on quickly…

:( Running out of petrol
This is not the first time I’ve done this and I’m sure it won’t be the last. I was only half a mile from home, so it was no biggie. However, moments like this always remind me what a klutz I am!

:) Getting cards from home
I love getting post! This month, I got three cards from my marvellous mother and two of my wonderful best friends from home. It always makes my day to receive a little hand written message.

:) Being understood
Despite my efforts to learn Vietnamese, much of it goes to waste because of my terrible accent. However, the other day I asked someone a question in Vietnamese and they understood me the first time I said it. Exciting!!

:( Being allergic to sun.
Well… It’s probably not exactly that. Basically, I can’t go in the sun for more than 30 minutes without getting a headache. Looking for a solution if anyone’s got one!?

:) Getting to number 50 on ‘the impossible quiz’
Yup, I’m revisiting that childhood obsession and I’m kicking ass at it! (I recommend not trying it as it’s highly addictive.)

:) Reaching 100 followers!
From what I can tell, this is a fairly modest number of followers in the blogging world. I feel like a super star though! I’m so pleased that people are actually interested in reading my ramblings. I hope you’re enjoying them, as there’s much more to come…

Leave a Reply

