Why I Write

It’s been my goal to write every day for the last month and a half. I keep a list of story ideas, blog titles and thoughts so that I’ve got something to start from. However, once in a while (more often than not, actually), I look at the list and my brain short-circuits. I don’t know why I’m writing or if I should bother. Today’s one of those days and I want to use it to remind myself why I write.

image

It makes sense.
I read a quote recently that really struck a chord with me:
“Writing is the only thing that when I do it, I don’t feel like I should be doing something else.” – Gloria Steinem.
So true!

I don’t speak eloquently.
However, when I write I can make things perfect! It’s like a second chance at talking where you can get things just as you want them.

Writing can freeze a point in time.
In the same way that taking a photo captures the moment, I feel like writing can too. I just have to look through an old story or a diary entry that I’ve written and I can tell exactly how I was feeling and what style I was trying to emulate, at the time. I find that really interesting!

I feel like I should.
Call it a good thing or a bad thing, but I’ve trained myself over the last couple of years to feel bad if I don’t write. It wasn’t on purpose, it just happened. Maybe there’s a reason for that?

Who said writers know what they’re doing!?
There’s so many famous writers that wrote just for the sake of it, not knowing how life-changing their work would be in the future. If they hadn’t done it just because they didn’t see the point then we’d be missing something great. I imagine my blogs of rambling and memes won’t be one of those things in the future, but something I write could be!

Because I can’t do anything else!
Even on the days that I think I’m bad at writing, I’m quickly reminded that I’m a lot worse at singing, sports, art and basically anything else! So even if writing is the best of a bad bunch, it’s still the best.

I feel like I’ve won.
Trying to write causes constant domestics with my roomie; writer’s block. On the days I manage to write, I get the satisfaction of saying; in your face writer’s block!

No one else will write this exact same thing.
Of course, many of us will write the same thoughts and ideas but it’s unlikely that someone will write the exact same sentences that I’m writing now. It’s a little pedantic and nit-picky but it makes me feel like I’m doing something special.

For future generations.
I would love to know more about my parents’, grandparents’ and great grandparents’ lives. It would be so interesting to hear about their lives. I hope my writing (the good bits, at least) will be passed down to my children and grandchildren.

Writing is so easy!
Well, most of it isn’t… What I mean is, all I need is a pen and a piece of paper. There are so many professions that you need big, expensive equipment to even try and it’s such a struggle for newbies to even get started. I’ve got everything I need at my disposal, it would be silly not to take advantage of that.

My family don’t write.
I don’t know why this keeps me going but it does. I find it interesting that no one in my family (as far as I know) is interested in writing. They write the odd letter, but that’s it. I feel like I owe it to this strange, inexplicable interest to use it.

People like my stuff.
Not everyone, and certainly not all of it, but someone likes it! I think that’s a good start.

Maths!
Sometimes I add up how many words I could have written by the end of the month/year/time if I just wrote a few hundred words every day. That helps me take one day at a time and just get a few more words down on paper.

I’m making progress.
I’d like to think that every day I write I’m getting a bit better. At the very least, I learn a new word…

What if…
Today is the day I could have the greatest writing epiphany in my life!? Or, today is the day I could write something that takes off like wildfire and breaks the whole internet!? Or, today is the day I could write something that my literary hero stumbles across and reads? And what if… I don’t write today?

To prove people wrong.
In actual fact, I imagine most people are nice enough not to want me to fail but in the back of my head there is a voice saying: ‘everyone thinks you’re wasting your time with writing, muahahaha!’ Whoever those people are, I want to prove them wrong, and if those people don’t exist then I want to prove that voice wrong!

9 thoughts on “Why I Write

Leave a Reply

